The Beginning...

The University was achieving another milestone towards materializing the dreams of its great founder, Pt. Madan Mohan Malaviya when it started Post Graduate and doctoral programme in Management in the year 1968 as a Department in the Faculty of Commerce. Since its inception, the university churned out over 4500 bright and dynamic managers who are currently holding prestigious positions in reputed business organizations across the globe.

Institute of Management Studies

Envisaging the increasing need for imparting quality management education and research, the University transformed the Department of Management Studies to an independent Faculty of Management Studies in the year 1984. Since then dedicated efforts were made to run innovative, need based programmes for the corporate world under the dynamic leadership of professors of national and international repute.

As a recognition of its contributions and enhanced future role it has to play in the Faculty was upgraded to Institute of Management Studies, Faculty of Management Studies has been upgraded to Institute of Management Studies, Banaras Hindu University vide University Notification no.R/GAD/Amend. Statute 3.A/136737 dated 16 December 2015. With continuous revision and innovation, the Institute has always been grooming managers capable of handling complex business operations of the day and future.

The following professors, renowned scholars in management led the Faculty over the years:

Prof. S.K.R. Bhandari
July 1984 to September 1984
Prof. A.K. Shah
October 1984 to September 1986
Prof. Mukund Lal
October 1986 to September 1988
Prof. Abrar Ahmad
October 1988 to September 1990 &
Oct. 1992 to Feb. 1994
Prof. R.M. Srivastava
October 1990 to September 1992,
Feb. 1994 to July 1998 &
Aug. 2002 to Dec. 2003
Prof. C. Lal
August 1998 to July 2001
Prof. H.C. Chaudhary
January 2004 to December 2006
Prof. Deepak Barman
January 2007 to December 2009
Prof. S.K. Singh
January 2010 to December 2012
Prof. R.K. Pandey
January 2013 to December 2015
Prof. Raj Kumar
January 2016 to 22 July 2018
Prof. P.S. Tripathi
July 23, 2018 Continuing