About Us

Telugu is a major Dravidian Language. It is the fifteenth largest language in the world and the second largest in India. Its inscriptional History starts from 575 A.D. Telugu is unique in its literary tradition and cultural heritage. The Department of Telugu focus upon the study of Telugu Language and Literature in relation to other Indian languages and modern applications of language studies.

The Department of Telugu was established in the year 1960, as a part of the Department of Indian languages. In 1960, the University appointed a lecturer to teach Telugu language. The Department of Indian languages was formed in 1961, with the combination of Bengali, Marathi, Telugu and Tamil. In 1968, Dr. B. V. Suryanarayana, Reader of Telugu, was appointed as the first Head of Department of Indian Languages. In 1977, Telugu studies was expanded with the introduction of M.A., Ph.D., two year U.G. and P.G. Diploma. In 1983, the Department of Telugu was bifurcated from Indian Languages. After establishment, the Telugu department was shaped and nurtured by a galaxy of scholars namely V. Ratnavali, Josyula Surya Prakasa Rao, N. Trivikramayya, B. Vishwanath, C.S. Ramachandra Murthy, B. Sarada Sundari who had distinguished themselves in various spheres of Telugu Language and Literary Studies. Now the Department is being headed by B. Venkateswarlu.

The UGC has sanctioned an innovative programme of one year full time P.G. Diploma in Translation Skills for varied competencies two semester with an amount of 42 lakhs. All the language Departments (classical and modern) are involved in the programme and Department of Telugu is the Nodal Department.

The Department has been fortunate in terms of the visits of creative writers and academic stalwarts of International and National repute. Some prominent figures among them include: M. S. Subbulakshmi (Great Karnatak Musician), Mangalam Palli Bala Murali Krishna (Popular karnatik Musician), Karuna Sri (Familiar Modern Poet) , C. Narayana Reddy (Gyanpeeth Awardee) S. Gopal (Son of Dr. Sarvepalli RadhaKrishnan), Hajari Prasad Dwivedi, Vibudi Narayana Singh, Korada Mahadeva Shastri, P. V. Parabrahma Shastri (Familiar Historian), Velcheru Narayana Rao (NRI Scholar), Bhadriraju Krishna Murthy (familiar Dravidian linguist and former VC of Hyderabad Central University), P. S. Subramanyam (Dravidian linguist), Diwakarla Venkataavadhani, Birudu Raju Rama Raju, Timma Vajjala Kodanda Ramayya, TumatiDonappa, S. V. Jogarao, Veturi Ananda Murthy, Kottapalli Veerabhadra Rao, G.V.Subramanyam, Jasti Suryanarayana, KetavarapuRamakotiShastri, AmaresamRajeshwara Sharma (Telugu Grammarian), B. Purushottam (Telugu Grammarian), Gandham Appa Rao, Ravva Srihari (Former VC of Dravadian University),Vankayala Ramachandra, Salaka Raghunada Sharma, Nayani Krishna Kumari (Former VC of Telugu University), Tangirala Venkata Subba Rao, Madurri Subba Reddy, Sarvottama Rao, Mudigonda Veerabhadrayya, Kolakaluri Enoch, T. Giri Prakash, G. V. S. R. Krishna Murthy, R. V. S. Sundaram, Betavolu Ramabrahmam, Madugula Nagaphani Sharma (Familiar Avadhani and former Chairman of Official Language in AP), Medasani Mohan (Familiar Avadhani), Gollapudi Maruthi Rao (Familiar Telugu Film Artist and Telugu Novelist), Yarlagadda Laxmi Prasad (former Parliamentarian), N. Gopi (former VC of Telugu University), Katyayani Vidmahe, Siddheswarananda Bharati, etc.

Today, the Department has the privilege of being one of the major Departments of Telugu in the country. It has a distinct position of its own in the University also due to its rich academic and research character. The Department offers Undergraduate, Post Graduate and Doctoral programs in Telugu Literature. It also offers Certificate and Diploma Courses besides its focus on other practical implications of the subject. At the postgraduate level in the final semester, optional papers such as Indian Literatures, Indian Aesthetics, Classical Grammar, Media Writings, Modern Fictions are offered to the students. Comparative Literatures and Contemporary Literary trends with socio – political background are other thrust areas in research.

Vision Statement
The Department of Telugu, Banaras Hindu University, established in 1960, is one of the major Departments in the Indian Languages of the Faculty of Arts. Right from its inception, the Department has sought to follow the holistic model of education, conceived and enriched by its illustrious founder, Mahamana Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviyaji. The Department seeks to offer refreshing new perspectives to young minds and aims to facilitate the accomplishment of their creative talents especially in the fields of Literature, Language and Culture.

Aims & Objectives:
o Developing Telugu Studies in relation to other major languages of INDIA
o Developing modern applications of language studies with specific emphasis on the present day job market
o Focus upon the comparative aspects of Indian Literature and Heritage
o Imparting special training in Translation Activity

Academic Events

Conference/ Seminar/ Symposium/ Workshop

Training & Schools Programme
Cultural/Sport Events
Forthcoming Events..
Designed and Developed by: Dr. R.S.Yadava, Computer Centre, BHU     |    Redesigned by: Haribansh Mishra ICT Sector, BHU
© 2018 - , Banaras Hindu University, [BHU], Varanasi-221005, U.P., India.    |    Maintained by : Computer Centre, BHU     |    Use a latest browser for best visibility