The Department of Horticulture was established in the year 1971. However, the post graduate teaching in Horticulture started three years before while functioning as a section unit of Faculty of Agriculture. The M.Sc. (Ag.) Horticulture degree programme was started in 1968. The mandate of department is to provide undergraduate teaching at B.Sc. (Ag.), post graduate education at M.Sc. (Ag.) and Ph.D. levels and develop quality human resource in the field of horticulture. Besides, it conduct basic and applied need based research through students, research projects that lead to improvement in production and productivity of horticultural crops. The Department produced nearly 451 M.Sc. (Ag.) and 114 Ph.D. scholars. The Department has the distinction that almost 100% of its M.Sc. (Ag.) students have been absorbed in different sectors of employment.

The students have been able to acquire reputed jobs including good share in national competitions like, Agricultural Research Services of ICAR, Provincial Civil Services, State Agricultural Universities and Banks. Besides this, extension is also an integral part of the department. Officers of the state Government and farmers are also given training in the department.